The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People

Tennessee State Univeristy

Chapter #5977 Who are we?

We are the Tennessee State University Collegiate Chapter of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). In the Spring of 2014, Agricultural Sciences Major David E. Conner sought the assistance of student engagement representative Derrick Smith to reactivate the NAACP on the campus of Tennessee State University. Through the membership recruitment of David E.Conner and Mr. Smith, the membership grew to twenty-five members, the needed requirement to reactivate. In the Fall of 2014, with over 30 memberships the Tennessee State University Collegiate Chapter (5977) officially reactivated. We currently have over 60 strong, committed, intellectual, and passionate members who are always ready to work and strive for justice and equality on the campus of Tennessee State University, in the Nashville Community, and throughout America.

Executive Committee Officers 2016-2017

Executive Committee Officers 2016-2017

President, Rully Dean

1st Vice President, Raven Pharr

2nd Vice President, Christopher Jenkins

3rd Vice President, Tatyana Pippins

Secretary, Deatra Jones

Treasurer, Rochelle Smith

Representatives At Large
Kaylynn McGuire
Dexter Hooks
Anyssa Keys

Standing Committees & Chairpersons 2014-2015

Membership, Rochelle Smith

Press & Publicity (Communication), Raven Pharr

Political Action/ Education, Dexter Hooks

Community Service, Tatyanna Pippins

Health, Deatra Jones

Program (Special Events), Anyssa Keys

Historian, Kaylynn McGuire

Advisory Committee
Kim Crutcher, Faculty Advisor
Paris Lee, Membership Advisor
David Conner, Financial Advisor

Executive Committee Officers 2014-2015

President, David E. Conner

1st Vice President, Tyree Taylor

2nd Vice President, Destiny Smith

3rd Vice President, Delveedra Davis

Secretary, Paris E. Lee

Assistant Secretary, Tatyana Pippins

Treasurer, Jaila Smith

Assistant Treasurer, Breya Davis

Representatives At Large
Ronald Johnson
Alicia Hawkins
Rully Dean
Julyan Madison
Ashley Doxy

Standing Committees & Chairpersons 2014-2015

Membership, Rully Dean

Press & Publicity (Communication), Tatyana Pippins

Freedom Fund (Fundraising), Valencia Perkins

Legal Redress, Julyan Madison

Political Action/ Education, Alicia Hawkins

Community Service, Ronald Johnson

Health, Mya Westbrooks

Program (Special Events), Deatra Jones

Historian, Ashley Doxy

Advisory Committee
Kenya Hawkins, Faculty Advisor
Derrick Smith, Membership Advisor
Dorian M. Townsend, Financial Advisor